I got some rather interesting feedback the other day, and I have to say that I was dumbfounded initially before sinking into a pile of giggles.

I was told that one of my readers was complaining about my World Baking Day post and that because I’m so poor, that I shouldn’t be able to afford to make cookies.

You know, for all of us gruel-eating, scab-picking people who are way below the poverty line.

This reader is well-aware that I’m a pastry chef by trade, and honestly, it would take quite a bit of baking to work my way through the larger amounts of sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and flour that are in my cupboards. I am trying to make all of my own things at home now, but it’s honestly more cost efficient to buy what I need at the dollar store.

That’s right. I shop for groceries at the dollar store.

I also coupon.

Okay, I’m not one of those unstable couponers that has WAAAAY too much body wash hidden away like a crazy person. I coupon with stuff that I need and can use on a daily basis – I also make sure that it makes sense to make that purchase; I’m not going to buy 20 cans of tomatoes just because I can get them for $0.20 each if I don’t even like tomatoes.

I have to say that it is a totally rough ride right now. I’ve tried to call in a few favours, and I have gotten quite a bit of help from my wonderful friends. A smile can go quite a long way.

So there you have it – it’s a little ridiculous to think that just because people are poor, they should be miserable. (also take a look at the recipe – it’s super easy and super cheap to make!)

IMG_2670

To get fancy little photos about cool stuff (including pictures of Missy and Pippin), you should definitely visit my instagram (@shibi_huntress) so that you can keep up with us poor people and the way that we live our sad little lives. 😉

Baking, butter, & happiness to you and yours!

 

 

 

 

