20140519-015256-6776077.jpg

Floral curtains. Teacups with roses. Bright sunshine. The smell of sweetness in the air. Pink icing.

These small things are what make up my first baking memory. It was always the same cookies made in the same way by my stepmom’s mother, Grandma Biller.

These always soft cookies and the sheer happiness that they represent are really what helped me to find my passion as a pastry chef.

Since today is World Baking Day, I would like to share this recipe with all of you!

Grandmother’s Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:
2 large eggs
2/3 Cups vegetable oil
2 tbsp vanilla
3/4 Cups white sugar
2 Cups AP flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Mix all the wet ingredients together, add the dry ingredients together, mix the dry into the wet and stir until a dough forms.

Have a bowl of sugar set aside. Using wet fingers, pick up a chunk of dough and mush it into a ball-like shape (it really doesn’t have to be perfect). Drop it into the sugar and make sure to coat it completely. Put it on the tray, about 1″ apart from the others and press down with your fingers or a glass.

Bake at 400 for 6-8 minutes or until the bottoms are golden.

You can ice these right away if you’d like: make a mixture of cream and icing sugar. Tint to a nice shade that you enjoy. Spread that awesome icing on the cookies and let it spread.

Add sprinkles or don’t. It’s your call.

Gabriel was so happy with these cookies that he asked that we bake them always. I’m so happy that I’m able to share something that makes me happy and maybe I’ll share it with the right person and they’ll be just as inspired as I was.

P.S. I haven’t been feeling well these days, so when I get a moment, I will turn this into a printable recipe card!

