Ableism.

Wikipedia says that it’s a form of discrimination or social prejudice against people with disabilities.

I used to say that that’s life.


Before, I had no idea that this was really a problem until I was denied a spot on the public transit because I was too young to have physical problems.

Shortly after that,  I was denied a doctor because Fibromyalgia doesn’t exist.  They then asked, “Are you seeing a therapist?”

ablebodied

As people with chronic invisible illnesses, we really are the group that is being ignored the most.

Out of all the “movements”, I fear that we’re shouting the loudest and we’re not being taken seriously.

There’s such a stigma surrounding invisible illnesses and so many stereotypes that we’re denied any credibility in regards to our pain.

In fact, if you want to rant and be angry about something, take a look at this video on youtube.

This is absolutely EVERYTHING that we’re up against every single day and it fucking sucks.

I just started up a Tumblr account. For so long, I’ve been avoiding it because I know it’s another time-waster for me where I can get excited about various Doctor Who crafts and knitting projects.

What I didn’t see was the untapped resource that it can be for those with invisible illnesses. Education is the key in most of these cases.

Just like Blogger, WordPress, Facebook, and Twitter, Tumblr is a great place for people to add their experiences together and really get the affirmation that many of us are looking for when we start to think that we’re crazy.

One topic that I ran into on Tumblr was a hashtag called #solidarityisfortheablebodied. I’m told that it started out as solidarity is for feminists or white women, but it grew into a unique perspective for those with disabilities.

I’ve said before that I’m taking back my health this year. 2014 is the year that I’m going to try and strip down the ignorance around me and really do something with the time that I’ve been given.

I’m taking this from my Tumblr and I’m keeping in all the links just in case you want to back track.

tumblr_my4a2ixNCp1rql3wmo1_500

fuckyeahfeminists:

rhrealitycheck:

#SolidarityIsForTheAbleBodied aimed to spark a conversation among people with disabilities who “have to fight, and hard, to adapt … to fit into the world,” Carter, a political consultant who lives in Maryland, said.

More so, it was meant to uncover the ableism experienced daily by the one in five people in the United States who has a disability. Just take a quick scan of the hashtag on Twitter, and you’ll readtweetaftertweet of inequitable treatment. Denied government benefits because you’re not “disabled enough”? Check. Confronted by a “take the stairs” campaign when you use a wheelchair? Check. Avoided visiting the doctor’s because it’s inaccessible? Check. Told your depression is nothing but temporary sadness and that you should “just smile”?Check.

While #SolidarityIsForTheAbleBodied shined a light on incidents of able-bodied privilege from across the globe, showing how ableism is a systemic issue in all political and societal respects, it also revealed something that has long been known by some, but that has been unrecognized by others: that feminism has an ableism problem.

Please read. This is so important. And it’s sad this has gotten no mainstream attention.

Yes, we all have our causes. This one affects me every single day and it governs my life. For the sake of others, I’ve had to become a pretty good actor to keep the smile on my face. I’m so thankful that I do actually smile with a little help from my husband.

If you have a twitter, I urge you to speak up with this hashtag! Talk about this on your own blogs or even have a conversation about it with a friend.

