Day 11 : Something people seem to compliment you the most on

It’s easy to get down on yourself when you’re depressed. Without meaning to, you skip over the good things in your life and only see the bad, the difficult, and the unchange-able.

Everyone has default answers to the questions that come up:

How are you? I’m fine.

What have you been up to?
You know, same old stuff.

These answers are quick and don’t lay your burdens on other people. You just put on your I’m totally okay to the outside world mask and shuffle to your next destination.

Let me tell you – these masks are essential for going about your day but there is a time when you need to take it off and truly connect with others.

I recently finished my stint in Day Hospital. Yes, this is Psychiatric Day Hospital. I went because I realized that I needed a bit more support than I was getting. I needed a routine and a reason to get out of bed in the mornings.

I’m not ashamed to say that I’ve been to Day Hospital (twice now) or that they’ve been for two different reasons. I loved both programs that I went through.

Okay, I’m getting to my point. I assure you.

People came and left throughout the week and it wasn’t announced if it was someone’s last day. This was different for me when it was my last day.

I had people come up to me and give me a hug. I was told that I would be greatly missed. I got text messages the following day saying that they missed me.

Every day, I would go in and say good morning to everyone. I would interact with people and ask for opinions. I took the time to listen when people were talking.

My therapist touched base with my case worker in day hospital and I was told that when I left, you could really tell the difference in the group of people. Even if I had missed a day, you could really tell when I wasn’t there.

The compliments that I kept getting were related to my interactions with others. I can connect with others quite easily and I really do care about them.

I went out of my way to bake for them and to make a lasagna for them (okay, store bought) and garlic bread so we could spend some time as a community instead of individuals.

I made some really great friends in that program. I cherish all of you!

