20131221-223930.jpg

There has been one question posed to me whenever I say that I write a personal blog:

Why are you posting your life up for everyone to see?

Honestly, it’s getting annoying. I understand that there are people out there who aren’t as connected to the internet as I am (read: my generation is) and I get it:

The internet is a scary place where there are people from all walks of life just waiting around to snatch up your credit card info.

Yes, there are these people out there. There are also freaks, pedophiles, stalkers, killers, and rapists. They shop at your local grocery store too; these people are members of your personal community. Now, tell me – who is in more danger here?

Either way, I don’t give out any information that could give away my address. I blog about the general Toronto area that I’m in, but I don’t say that I’m on THIS street and I leave my doors unlocked. (Just for the record, I don’t leave any doors unlocked when I’m home or not)

No matter how I explain it to the question-posers, they either tell me that I am privacy liability or that this is my rant space. I admit it. I rant.

What gets me is that I’m being told what my blog space is; The whole reason why I blog.

This is my headspace; I’m not going to pretend that I don’t have anger issues. I also have issues with injustice and fairness. For good measure, lets toss in some issues with egocentricity and ignorance.

I talk about all of these issues and more. So why does everyone think that this blog that I’m running is a direct link to the devil?

I’m going to set the record straight.

Why Blog About Anything?

Emotional support

I have issues. Abandonment issues, familial issues, health issues…and I need more emotional support than I’m currently getting. This allows me to seek out others from the safety of my own office who have conquered or are going through the same thing. Also, I can do all this in my pajamas.

Group Therapy

Although similar to the above point, this medium of my blog allows me to interact with a network of people. This allows me to see issues and get feedback from others about various topics without having to go to an actual group therapy.

Focus

This is a huge part of having a blog (for me anyways). My life and living with a chronic pain condition is spinning out of control and there is nothing I can do about it. Having control of something that is my own allows me to have a constant. You know when you’re dizzy, right? The best way to stop is to focus on a point on the wall. Well, this is my focus point.

Singular Therapy

I get the chance to work through my issues on paper (okay, computer screen). Typing is much less painful than writing with a pen, so it’s easier to keep up with my thoughts when the fog parts (Thanks, fog Moses). It allows me to go back and easily access thoughts and events from earlier times; this is very important to me.

Creativity

I get to have an outlet for my creativity. I get to modify my blog whenever I see fit. I can make a new logo or award and share it with people. I can share a recipe that I wrote or share a project that I’m working on.

Friendship

I’m not afraid to say that I consider many people in my blog network as my friends. I recount the tales of their accomplishments and their own creative moments to the people that I see in my day to day life. I’ve come to cherish everyone on here. I care about their lives and I feel so connected. It’s wonderful.

Sharing is Caring

I can’t do much with my days. Some days are better than others but with the accessibility of the internet, I get to be a part of something bigger than I am.

Chronicle

I forget a lot about my life. This is an easy way to recount my life and search for things to help me remember. Seriously. This is very troubling to me.

I never expected this blog to take off I the way it has. I never expected this blog to become such a place of thought-provocation and healing.

I never expected to find the wonderful people that I cherish every day.

So, next time that someone asks me why I blog on the internet – it’s not to “air out my dirty laundry” or to “be a terrible person”. It’s for me. I don’t blog about personal stuff for anyone else’s gain. I do it for me.

This is a privately owned domain. You are not obligated to read the content here. You are not expected to come back if you don’t want to.

I’m not playing a game here. I’m living my life by my rules and I just so happen to use this blog as a medium to do so.

If you don’t like it, get the fuck out.

Photo credit: http://ondolady.com/why-my-blog-got-hacked/

