small things great love

I read somewhere that there’s a secret to a great marriage – a good relationship even. Fall in love with your partner every single day.

While this may seem a little tiresome, many couples have managed to do this without even thinking about it. Whether it’s the sparkle in your partner’s eyes or the way they kiss your forehead before you go to bed, it’s all about the small things.

I can safely say that there hasn’t been a day that has gone by yet that I haven’t managed to fall in love with Gabriel. Yes, every single day, I fall in love with him.

It’s not always about what your partner does; It could be what your partner says or even doesn’t say. It could be in a meal that was cooked with care or a gift where the thought really does count. It could be a reaction from you; a great example is that I always smile when I see Gabriel, sometimes without even knowing it.

Another great way to find the romance in every day living is to plan a date night. If you’re really not getting the whole small things or need to be convinced that it’s even possible – start by planning one night a week where you both do something that you love.

I do have a story for you

Tomorrow has been designated as date night – mind you, I had no idea that this was going to happen. I had just made myself a tea and I was going to sit down with my favourite movie and my knitting to just have a relaxing evening to myself.

Then I remembered that Gabriel told me that he wanted to watch this specific movie with me on the next viewing.

What you don’t understand is that this movie is Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.

It’s a western musical about a bunch of brothers who kidnap girls for their wives and eventually every one lives happily ever after – did I mention that it was a musical?

When I got my wisdom teeth out and I couldn’t leave bed, I watched this movie. Gabriel was on his computer and was looking over throughout the whole movie. Eventually, he ended up watching most of it with me and to his surprise (and mine!) he enjoyed it. I honestly thought that he was kidding when he asked if we could watch it together next time.

Since he’s busy tonight, he has decided to plan out a wonderful dinner for us and we’re going to cozy up on the couch to watch our favourite movie.

(Close runners up for me: The Court Jester, Ball of Fire, Auntie Mame)

So there you have it – it’s all about the little things.

Between the kisses and the laughter, there certainly is a small slice of heaven in my household.

 

Do you have any marriage or relationship advice to pass along?

