My husband and I amidst the 'regular sheep'.
My husband and I amidst the ‘regular sheep’.

I’ve always put “my eyes” at the top of my “I love me” list, but I think that’s a bit of a cop-out. The one thing that I love about myself is more of a comforting feeling, actually.

I love the fact that I’ve always come out of every situation.

Okay, hold it! What’s so special about that? We’re all just going through life and we all come out of the best and the worst of various situations.

You’re right, but how about this? I’ve gotten through all of the shite that I have and I’m not a drug-addict, an alcohol abuser, a narcotics junkie, I haven’t been in jail, I have a college education, and I’m not royally mentally ill (I will describe this one since it’s a tricky situation).

You may know that I grew up in the ‘ghetto’ in London, Ontario. I’ve been to over ten elementary schools, my mother never had any real friends that weren’t dealers or that she wasn’t supplying to.

There are many things in my life that have happened where I’ve been described as a strong person. I’ve been raped, I’ve lost babies, I’ve been violently abused by my older sister, I’ve been homeless, I’ve been broke to the point where smoking cigarettes was all I could afford to deal with the hunger. I was abandoned by my mother at a young age (as in, signed custody over on a scrap piece of paper and told me that she didn’t want me to my face) because my older sister had convinced her that I was stealing towels and spoons. (I still don’t understand that one)

Throughout this, I’ve managed to graduate highschool with honours and I’ve graduated college with a 3.94 GPA. I’ve managed to stay clean (except for the smoking which I promptly gave up once food was readily available) and the occasional drink with friends. I have (had – thanks Fibromyalgia!) a career where I will never be out of work (thanks again, Fibro!) doing something that I love. I’ve managed to find the man of my dreams and we’re getting married.

I have a relatively vanilla-style life and that’s how I want it and that’s how I like it.

I love the fact that I’m the black sheep of my family. I’m the odd-man-out and that’s not a bad thing.

