20130828-161500.jpg

Here’s a super easy recipe that tastes great! You don’t have to know how to bake to make this one a family treat!

 

As you may know, biscotti comes from an Italian word meaning twice baked.

 

Gingerbread Biscotti

  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup (dark) brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 1/4 cups AP flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 TBSP grated fresh ginger
  • 3/4 TBSP ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 TBSP ground cloves
  • 1/4 TSP ground nutmeg
  • Optional: Hazelnuts (I added pecans)
  1. Preheat the oven to 370 degrees Fahrenheit. Place down parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the oil, sugar, eggs, and honey.
  3. On top, layer all of the remaining ingredients; combine until it makes a uniform stiff dough.
  4. You can divide this dough in half or leave it whole, but you need to shape the cookie into a log form and flatten it out to 1/2″ thickness.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes or 15 in a professional oven. Remove from oven a COOL COMPLETELY.
  6. When completely cool, cut into even slices of desired thickness. Place on the baking sheet and toast them for 5-7 minutes on each side or until crispy.

 

I’m making these at work, so I’ll make sure to add a picture of them to this post when I snap one.

 

Have a great night! Shoutout to Gretel’s Revenge Bakery! (P.S. Click the darned link!)

 

This is a great recipe for us Fibro-foagies, too. Simple and doesn’t make you feel too much pain to make them. 😉

I added the picture from the ones that I made today. 😉 I think I’ll have to write down my amazing gluten free chocolate chip cookie recipe after this. (It doesn’t taste gluten free or chalky. It’s perfect!)

