So I was just fired from my job. I’ve only ever been fired once besides this, and just like now, I had the most amazing feeling of relief.

It’s easy to deal with being fired when you expect it. I’ve been sitting on my paranoia all week – obviously it was my intuition this time and not actually paranoia.

How I knew I was going to be fired:

  1. I was left out of the loop – this shit actually happens. The team I was a part of would schedule team meetings for my day off or half an hour after I left for the day. The only reason I found out was because one of the attendees left the meeting notes out on my workstation.
  2. I messed up – yeah, they had a reason to fire me. The reason I was fired was because the Teaching Assistants took their lunches at the same time and I didn’t step up as their acting boss and penalize them for it. (The TA’s are unpaid). Also, because a male friend dropped off lunch for me and she was worried he would rape all of the students. I’m being serious. And my Fibromyalgia. Okay, they didn’t put it like that because that’s descrimination, but anyways…can we not talk about this?
  3. Everything is communicated through text or emails – You are conveniently excluded from everything and it also creates a paper trail. On top of this, it’s so that your boss can convince others that you deserve to be fired. It could just be the spite in me, but I don’t think so because I’ve had the same thing communicated to me for other people who were fired.
  4. They hired someone to replace you – I’ve always been wary when this happens. And this time, I was right.
  5. They “promoted” you – essentially, moved you from a position where you could not see that they were actively trying to fill your position and gave you tasks to focus on so that you wouldn’t see them scrambling to fill your position
  6. Co-workers quickly changed the subject when I walked into the room – there was one of the newer employees whose eyes would get really wide and she’d look like a deer in the headlights. Tell tale sign.bizarro-thinking-outside-the-box
  7. The boss complements you – This was a weird one. Both times that I was fired, I was always complimented on my appearance the few days leading up to the dismissal. It’s really weird. “I really like your pants” “That colour looks great on you” “What a beautiful pair of eyebrows you have” Yeah, it was really really weird.
  8. Email accounts that were once open to you are now restricted – On the Sunday before I was let go (on monday), I went to do my job and everything was closed off to me. Quelle Surprise.

I can’t actually make it up to ten points, but I do have something else to add to this:

Sometimes, it’s not you, it’s them.

Sometimes, things change and you’re left by the side of the road; it just happens. It sucks that this had to happen to you, and at this point, it really doesn’t matter why you were let go because you will move on from this. It will pass. It may pass like a kidney stone, but it will pass.

Live and Learn, no?

So these past few days, I’m actually doing everything the same as I would have. Woke up, fell out of bed, dragged the comb across my head. (good song, no?) The dishes are still there, the mouths need to be fed, and the bills will never stop. All that you can really rely on is yourself. You’re stronger than you think.

