I’ve been avoiding getting waxed for a few months. You know, that terrible, teeth-grinding Brazilian waxing…ugh. I’ve never had it done before this, but now that I have, I can safely say that I know what I’m talking about because I’ll never forget it.

I went into a few different salons along Dundas before ending up at Pearl. No one seemed to have the facilities to do any waxing. This is fine, it’s a dirty job that involved ripping off hair and skin alike for beauty purposes.

I went into Pearl, the smell of chemicals wasn’t as strong as some of the spa-type places I’ve been to. I was greeted by two attendants, one by the name of Kim, who convinced me that instead of waiting for the Brazilian to get started, I should take a load off and have a pedicure. This way, I get a pedicure, and Kim (who was the technician to do my waxing) would be able to finish up with her customer without rushing. This sounded like a great plan to me, so I went for it.

I had a lovely pedicure, but the shaving off of the dead skin was little underwhelming. Usually when I get my feet razor’d, they’re nice and soft afterwards. This time, they were okay.  I did feel a little bad when my feet first went into the tub, they were stanky. Mind you, it was very hot outside, and I was wearing an old pair of flats. I wasn’t expecting to get a pedicure. If the attendant was bothered, she didn’t show it. She was very professional.

This location had a lovely selection of colours, so I went with a nice teal for my toes. I really enjoyed myself. Jerik eventually came along to meet up with me and they were incredibly friendly with him as well. They offered him the use of their facilities while he waited for me.

Eventually, Kim was ready for me and my Brazilian waxing session. It was reasonably priced for a Full Monty wax. So, since I’d never had one before, I was a little nervous at getting it done. I was asked to take off my lower half and lay down. I didn’t expect the amount of pain that I was going to be in.

Holy crap. PAIN!

I was debating on getting sugared before this, but I wasn’t entirely sure about it. I just wanted to get it done and over with. I HIGHLY recommend trimming your hair a lot shorter than you think you’ll need it to be. I definitely didn’t and it was what caused the most pain for me.

There were some spots that I had to fix, but considering the fact that I had a LOT of hair, Kim did an amazing job. She was incredibly professional about the whole thing. I don’t know if I would go back for the waxing, mostly because I don’t know if I could ever handle that amount of pain ever again, but I would certainly go back for the well-priced and well-serviced pedicure. I’m going to go back for a manicure if I ever stop biting my nails.

 

Note: Apparently they’ve changed their name. They’re in the same location though and it’s run by the same people.

Pearl Nails & Spa

Excellent Professional Nails Care

2957 Dundas Street West

Toronto, On

M6P 1Z2

Call Kim: (416) 767-7788

