This past weekend was the Victoria Day long weekend! Yay! Three whole days off, and now it’s back to work and my nose is to the grindstone once again.

Being a homebody, I don’t like to go out much. There really isn’t much that you can do to get me to go outside. Playing with Pippin is always an option, going to the store because I’m hungry may be another one, but if I had my way, I would have all my food delivered and I’d stay in my dark cave of gaming heaven. Yes, I shower regularly if you must know.

That being said, I saw the latest JJ Abrams Star Trek In To Darkness movie. This does mean that I went outside. In the heat. It was hot.

All I have to say about the movie is: Amazing. It’s a brilliant re-imagining of an already incredible film. There were quite a few tributes to the original series, but at least they’re giving nods to the fans. 

Gabriel took me to see it and we had a great time with it being our second date and all. We walked around downtown Toronto, along the busy streets where you just want to punch everyone in the back of the head, to hit the geeky stores on Yonge Street.

We went all the way there and all we got were some dice. Yes, they’re fucking awesome red, but they’re nice anyways.

There was a giant gathering of people around the Eaton Centre. This is usually the norm, but there was something going on that forced the regular crowd to swarm the streets and cut off all access within a two block radius. Ah, Lady Antebellum was playing in Dundas Square. I’m not too sure who else was there before/after, but I managed to not get run over and still snap a pic.

All thanks to Siri, and no thanks to the blaring music, we managed to find an all-you-can-eat sushi place just around the corner. The food was pretty good, but the service was slow. I understand though, it’s the long weekend: who really wants to be working? Oh wait, they’re making a wage and a half – why am I not

working?!

All in all, it was a great weekend. Lazing around the house, eating popsicles, then Star Trek. So perfect. Oh yeah, and the date wasn’t too bad either. 😉

