I’ve been pushed out and tossed on my ear so much recently that I’m starting to think that it’s a natural state of being.

Having two people in a small space is tough. Now, imagine those two people basically hate to go outside; one of them is an extreme introvert while the other one is constantly in pain thus lacking generally mobility. You can imagine that toes are getting stepped on, right?

So far, it’s been really great. We both share the space with a roommate and Oliver’s mother as well as two cats and the love-of-my-life-puppy-dog, Pippin. It’s getting really squished in this living space now. We also only have one bathroom. Eep!

It’s great that everyone gets along, and all in all, sharing a space with Oliver is really pleasant. We actually agree to ignore each other fully and make sure that we have constant open communication – this is a little different than I’m used to, but I’ll get into that later.

Here are some Tips & Tricks for making your shared living space a little easier to deal with:

  1. Don’t take offense if your partner needs space
  2. Communicate as much as possible
  3. Take the time to do what you want to do , just make sure to let the other person in on your plans
  4. Contribute as equal partners in the cleaning

On that note, this weekend is the Victoria Day long weekend – Fireworks! We also had a lovely family barbeque with everyone there, including Oliver’s sweet niece. So precious! Great food, great company, and of course, I had to have alcohol.

My body and alcohol don’t mix. Seriously. I had 1/3 of a beer and I had a severe stomach ache and a headache for three hours-or-so. But! The story of me and alcohol is for another time.

